Black Swan Trailer

Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan is set to hit theaters December 1st, 2010 and it might be the best drama we’ve seen since his last film, The Wrestler which showed in 2008. Natalie Portman is finally teaming up with a director that will get her at least an Oscar nomination and Mila Kunis might deliver her first above average performance in a feature film. Supported by Vincent Cassel and Winona Ryder this movie might turn out to have one of the years best casts (good luck beating True Grit with Jeff Bridges, Josh Brolin, and Matt Damon).

Basically what I’m saying is after Pi, Requiem For A Dream, and The Wrestler (let’s just forget The Fountain ever happened) you would be doing yourself a disservice to miss Aronofsky’s Black Swan. Plus it arrives on the same day as Eastwood’s Hereafter, making it possibly a double five-star movie hop. That my friends, is a rarity.

Check out the trailer after the jump.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: News

4 Comments on “Black Swan Trailer”

  1. Adam
    August 28, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Natalie Portman was nominated for an Oscar in Closer, but I believe her best role was in Leon, The Professional.

    As for Vincent Cassel, the guy is one hell of an actor and kills in everything he’s in (except perhaps the Ocean’s movies). Remember him in Eastern Promises? His name with Aronofsky is what draws me, not Natalie Portman’s.

    If you get a chance you should really check out Irreversible. He’s also in the new french gangster movie Mesrine.

  2. Nick
    August 28, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    I liked Leon but I didn’t think she was that amazing in it. Closer was ok, for some reason playing a stripper seems to be the easy way for an actress to get an Oscar nom.

    Vincent is good and I haven’t seen Irreversible but so far he doesn’t strike me as a guy who can carry a whole movie. Maybe Mesrine will change my mind.

  3. Joey
    September 1, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    I had mixed feelings about Pi. Requiem is a given, as it’s the best production most of the cast will ever be involved with. I missed The Wrestler for some reason, so I’m sure you gents will cast my opinion to the side. But I think The Fountain was a very decent film. Huge Ackman was miscast, but Weisz was great in her role. It was mesmerizing on the surface, but it let those who were interested look deeper.

    But, Black Swan… It looks like Aronofsky’s gained a big head. He’s pulling a Shyamalan. He’s recieved too much praise too soon, and I think the premise of Black Swan is gonna be his shark jump (or his fridge nuke). This is gonna be his The Happening. I mean, it looks like a load of metaphysical hogwash, but at the same time she’s literally turning into a fucking swan? I’m hoping it’s just a bad trailer that I’m not smart enough to comprehend.

    Kunis is an interesting choice, though. Never thought she’d come back from American Psycho 2.

  4. Adam
    September 2, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Yeah, I know that The Fountain got mixed reviews. People seem to either hate it or love it. Seems like there is no middle ground there. As for comparisons to Shamalan, well I don’t see that as such a bad thing. I for one am a fan of his and I loved The Happening. I know my opinion is not shared by many, and I’m fine with that. To me the trailer reminded me of Suspiria.

Leave a Reply

