Ken Burns’ Baseball: The 10th Inning & Kinda First 9 Innings too – Review

In honor of the San Francisco Giants making the World Series I have reviewed Ken Burns’ Baseball: The Tenth Inning.

For any baseball fans that haven’t seen Ken Burns’ Baseball, watch it. Baseball is an epic documentary that, thanks to The 10th Inning, is now well over 20 hours long. It sums up exactly how all us die-hard baseball fans feel about the game – that it is more than a game.

It is America’s pastime, it is a history, it is a bond between family and friends we never met, it is the one everlasting tradition we can always turn to in times of need. Because baseball is not really a game, it is a connection between kids and their fathers, and their father’s fathers.

I vividly remember playing catch with my dad in my great grandfathers backyard. The ball got lost in a field and my dad made both of us search for it for what seemed like hours. At the time, i thought it was pointless, but  now it is embedded in my head as one of my fondest memories; Looking for a baseball with my dad in a place where he might have looked for a baseball with my grandfather, and him with my great-grandfather. For some reason it just doesn’t get better than that.

I digress, The 10th Inning is a welcome but hard to face add-on to the best baseball history ever told. Facing the fact the my childhood heroes, Mark McGuire and Jose Canseco, are by today’s standards “cheaters” is something I may never be able to accept. Barry Bonds fans might not like it much either, in fact some parts of The 10th Inning are just hard on baseball fans.

Covering from 1992-2009,  The 10th Inning shows that baseball is no longer the peoples’ game but a game of millionaires and billionaires. Covering the 94-95 strike in which baseball lost most of its fans due to the greed of players and owners, to McGuire and Sosa bringing the fans back but tainting the home run record, the film shows baseball’s many flaws. Bonds then breaking the single season and all time HR record is highlighted as a point where baseball lost joy, and as the record was broken no one cared.

Also, there is a ton of Redsox vs Yankees mumbo jumbo that as a west coast baseball fan, I feel is overdone but still pretty epic. My point is, the film Baseball captures how I feel about baseball. It’s almost impossible to put into words, but Ken Burns has done it in his film. See it.

Tags: ,

Categories: Reviews

3 Comments on “Ken Burns’ Baseball: The 10th Inning & Kinda First 9 Innings too – Review”

  1. Adam
    October 24, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    First of all, I thought you were an Oakland A’s fan and second of all, is this available on DVD?

  2. Nico
    October 24, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Dawwww, how sweet of you.

  3. Nora
    November 6, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Some mothers played a LOT of catch with their kids too, just thought I’d say.

Leave a Reply

