A Short Take on Polanski’s Short Films

Roman Polanski is without a doubt one of the best and most controversial filmmakers of our time. Chinatown, Rosemary’s Baby, The Tenant and The Pianist are some of my favorite films ever made. So, I was super exited to get a chance to see some of Polanski’s earlier short films.  Click on link to continue reading and see a list of the short films

I have to say, while they were cool to watch, I was a little disappointed. My main problem is that I love Polanski’s ability to set up a story and not rush it, something that is not easy to do in a short film. Some of the shorts I was really getting into, especially the one about a doll maker.  But, right when I wanted to know what came next they ended. Others were to long and lacked Polanski’s signature style. Still, for fans of Polanski’s work I would say go check them out. They are worth seeing, if for nothing else just to observe how much he has grown as a filmmaker.

List of Films:

Murder (1 min 30 sec)

Teeth Smile (1 min 27 sec)

Break up The Dance (7 min 38 sec)

Two Men and a Wardrobe (15 min)

When Angels Fall (22 min)

The Lamp (7 min 50 sec)

Mammals (10 min 15 sec)

Tags: ,

Categories: Reviews

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

