Rise of the Planet of the Apes Review and Trailer

I can’t believe the words that I am about to type out… a movie with a CGI ape as the main character is without a doubt, one of my favorite films of the year.  In fact, Rise of the Planet of the Apes is undoubtedly the best sci-fi movie of the new decade.  I’m still stunned at how this is possible!  The only way I can sober up and compose my thoughts is by reviewing it, so here goes nothing:

CGI monkeys ruined the latest Indiana Jones film.  For that, they gained a decent spot on my shit list.  This was a grudge I planned on holding onto because to me, Indiana Jones is sacred.  I went into Rise of the Planet of the Apes fully expecting to get my ape hate on, in fact, I was considering bringing some feces to throw at the screen.  When I left the theater, not only had I forgiven computer generated apes, I had developed a deep seeded emotional bond with them.  Much of this stems from the fact that ROTPOTA (has a nice ring to it doesn’t it?) has some of the best character development I have seen in a science fiction film, or for that matter, any film from the past few years.

By the time the first true action scene starts, I felt like I had already watched a complete movie. I had seen a little baby ape escape the clutches of medical research and, with the help of James Franco, grow into a good, strong ape man. But life isn’t easy for an ape that’s been scientifically upgraded to APE 2.0. The ape, Cesar, has such intelligence that it’s hard for him to fit in and when he is forced into an animal shelter he doesn’t take kindly to it. This is where the film really shines. The “monkeys” in the shelter are such incredibly well conceived characters that I immediately forgave them for being CGI and just wanted to feed them bananas.  This, matched with James Franco’s excellent performance as a scientist searching for the cure for his father’s Alzheimers, drives the film into a dramatic, emotional place.  When the action started, I actually cared about the outcome – which is more than I can say for any other sci-fi film from the past couple years. That being said, you will have to be able to suspend some disbelief, especially if you live in San Francisco and know that there is not a giant monkey impound on top of Twin Peaks.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

5 Comments on “Rise of the Planet of the Apes Review and Trailer”

  1. Adam
    August 25, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Finally saw this based on your review. Seriously? I am so sick and tired of feature length origin stories. This entire film could have been done in an hour leaving another hour for us to see the Apes’ inhabit the entire planet. I felt cheated and pissed off.

    On the flip side, I did enjoy the CGI Apes, which I too thought were going to be distracting and weren’t.

    I give the film 2 stars, maybe 3 if I’m feeling generous, which I’m not.

  2. Nick
    August 25, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Adam what did you think it was going to be? It is called Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes, if you didn’t know that was going to be an origin story I don’t know what to tell you. The film shows how Apes became intelligent, escaped from human capture, and were left to inherent the planet what else did you expect?

    My review, which is what you say made you see the film, and the trailer both make it extremely clear that the movie is an origin story.

    Also, they do show humans lost control of the planet leaving it for the apes to take over. I thought they did it in a very intelligent way as it wasn’t something that needed to be drawn out in the film. did you not catch that?

    I don’t think you can criticize the film just because you didn’t think it was going to be an origin story. That’s like criticizing clockwork orange because you thought it was going to be about fruit.

  3. Adam
    August 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    First off, how many times have you seen A Clockwork Orange? Obviously, the milk from the milk bar is coconut milk. The key word her being COCONUT!! So yes, the movie is about fruit.

    Secondly, and on a more serious note, I knew it was going to be an origin story, I just thought they could have had the origin story along with the story of the astronauts returning to an Ape inhabited planet all within 2-and-a-half hours.

    On another less serious note, I hope that by the end of the sequel the Apes develop a drug that falls into the hands of the Honey Badgers. They can call it ROTPOTHB.

    Regardless, my star rating of 2 still stands firm.

  4. Nick
    August 25, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    First of all it’s a different story all together. astronauts don’t return in this one because there aren’t any. Either way that movie has already been made, this is not a remake.

    Secondly, in Clockwork Orange they drink milk at the Korova Milk Bar. As you should know the language in the film is a mix of English and Russian. Korova in Russian means cow. You lose due to your whimsical attempt to try to make Clockwork Orange about fruit.

    Honey badges don’t have opposable thumbs, even if they were as smart as us, or apes, we could take them.

    Your rating sucks.

    Also, You liked Rob Zombie’s Halloween which might be the worst origin story ever made. Not to mention it was completely unnecessary and stupid if you are fan of the first film. What made the original so great is that Meyers was a representation of evil and treated as a force of nature not a human. By humanizing him in the remake not only did they disrespect the original film but they made the most generic how-i-became-a-killer story ever. You don’t need to tell anyone that most serial killers suffered abuse at home and tortured animals as kids. That shit is serial killer 101. WEAK.

  5. Adam
    August 25, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    oh it’s on

Leave a Reply

