35mm Uncut Print of Nicolas Roeg’s Sci-Fi Epic The Man Who Fell To Earth Review and Trailer

It’s only fitting that my first review for Filmbalaya is for the movie, The Man Who Fell to Earth; for not only do I lack the experience to write a cohesive review, but also the movie lacks the cohesiveness to be reviewed.

The difficulty of my task is heightened only by the fact that I’ve always held to the fervent belief that David Bowie actually is an alien from outer space. For the first hour of the film, I truly believed I was watching a documentary.

Documentary? Fictional film? It doesn’t matter. All I know is that it was difficult to watch. What with the new uncut 137 minute running time, the atmospheric vibraphone prog-rock, the strangely unsettling sex scenes, the bizarre cinematography, and the outdated style of acting. The truth is I came away from this film knowing only two things for certain: that people in the 70’s obviously took a lot of drugs, and that I never again want to see David Bowie naked. Not in a movie, and not in real life.

I guess if I had to compare the film to something, I would compare it to E.T. The only difference being that the alien in E.T. is a beer-bellied midget with a hankering for Reese’s Pieces, and the alien in this movie resembles the love child of Willem Dafoe and a praying mantis, and seems to crave only gin, sex, and fedora hats.

My advice to all of you out there is to go ahead and skip The Man Who Fell to Earth, especially with the additional 20 minutes in the director’s cut which is going to be screened on 35mm. And if you get a craving for Bowie, which we all do at one time or another, just put on Ziggy Stardust instead. It’ll take up only half the time, and you wont have to lie awake at night with the image of Bowie’s frail, pallid body trapped inside your mind.

The Man Who Fell To Earth opens in San Francisco Friday, September 9th

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

2 Comments on “35mm Uncut Print of Nicolas Roeg’s Sci-Fi Epic The Man Who Fell To Earth Review and Trailer”

  1. Adam
    September 5, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    I loved your review and respect your opinion on Bowie, but have to admit that this film deserved more than a 2 star rating. This is by far my favorite Roeg film.

  2. Adam
    September 5, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    … And I liked it for most the reasons you didn’t

    “the atmospheric vibraphone prog-rock, the strangely unsettling sex scenes, the bizarre cinematography, and the outdated style of acting”

Leave a Reply

