Top 10 “I’m So Hungry I Can Eat A…” Scenes

This Thanksgiving when you’re sitting around the dinner table slowly working your way into a food coma of turkey and wine take a moment to give thanks to all the great cinematic food-eating scenes that cinema has given us over the years.  Need help, check out these 10 great face stuffing scenes.

Chocolat (2000)

The I’m so hungry I can eat a whole lot of chocolate scene: Alfred Molina‘s bad guy character wakes up humbled and shamed after a night of wallowing in a chocolate window display while simultaneously shoveling handfuls of the confectionary treats into his gullet. (Watch scene here)

A Christmas Story (1983)

The I’m so hungry I can eat a plate full of mashed potatoes scene:  Okay, so technically speaking little Randy wasn’t even that hungry.  It wasn’t until his mom coaxed Randy into doing a little piggy impression that his plate cleaning skills started to surface.  Then he easily clears his plate without the aid of any pesky silverware. (Watch scene here)

Cool Hand Luke (1967)

The I’m so hungry I can eat a 50 eggs scene:  Nowadays Paul Newman might be known for his exceptional food products, but back in 1967 he was known as Luke, the prisoner who challenged his fellow inmates to an egg eating contest, ingesting 50 eggs in 1 hour.  Unless you aspire to have a tummy that looks like a snakes after swallowing a rabbit I wouldn’t try this at home. (Watch scene here)

The Great Outdoors (1988)

The I’m so hungry I can eat an enormous 96 ounce prime beef steak: Sometimes overeating can be a selfless act.  Case in point, in this scene John Candy orders the “Old 96er” with the hopes of finishing it off completely.  If successful his family and friends get their entire meal for free.  The poor guy was all set to just order half a salad until the waitress told him of the challenge.  Just watching this scene is enough to make me sweat. (Watch scene here)

Groundhog Day (1993)

The I’m so hungry I can eat whatever I want without any consequences scene:  What would you do if you were doomed to live one day of your life over and over again?  I for one would probably do everything Bill Murray did, including having to never worry about high cholesterol, diabetes or expanding those love handles.  Check out this classic Bill Murray scene as he scarfs down a glazed sponge cake in one bite without ever cracking a smile. (Watch scene here)

Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life (1983)

The I’m so hungry I can eat til I explode scene: I like to describe this scene as a live action interpretation of the kids game Hungry Hungry Hippo, only the hippo keeps expanding with every bite until it eventually explodes, and is played by Terry Jones. (Watch scene here)

The Nutty Professor (1996)

The I’m so hungry I can eat everything in the house scene: Not to discredit Monty Python in any way, but when it comes to comedic overeating scenes Eddie Murphy’s Professor Klump takes the cake – along with a jar full of Resse’s Pieces, a bucket of ice cream, a bag of chips, some donuts, etc. (Watch scene here)

Oldboy (2003)

The I’m so hungry I can eat a live octopus scene: Sometimes bingeing on sugary sweets or cooked meat isn’t enough to satisfy one’s hunger.  Sometimes you just need to satisfy that craving for live Octopus.  Hey, who am I to judge?  Maybe if I was held captive in a small room for a prolonged period of time against my will I too would crave live squirmy food.  There are no special effects here, that Octopus was real – gross. (Watch scene here)

Spaceballs (1987)

The I’m so hungry I can eat myself to death scene: “On a sadder note, Pizza the Hutt was found dead earlier today in the back seat of his stretched limo. Evidently, the notorious gangster became locked in his car and ate himself to death.” This is one scene I wish didn’t take place off camera. (Watch scene here)

Stand By Me (1986)

The I’m so hungry I can win a pie eating contest scene: Talk about going out on top.  In actor Andy Lindberg‘s one and only acting credit, he plays Lardass Hogan, a blueberry pie eating champion and creator of the spectacle known as the Barf-O-Rama.  Projectile vomiting will never be the same. (Watch scene here)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Best Of Lists, Features

4 Comments on “Top 10 “I’m So Hungry I Can Eat A…” Scenes”

  1. Nick Petrick
    November 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Nice list man! Check out the movie Taxidermia. It has a really great face stuffing scene and is also just completely bizarre. I think you would like it.

  2. November 23, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Little bit disappointed that the scene where that fat kid from Matilda didn’t get a mention. Giant cake, concussing of a school girl and the Trunchbull being beaten? Perfection.

  3. Adam Cuttler
    November 24, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    @Nick Think I’ll check out Taxidermia this week. Thanks for the heads up. I love a good bizarre movie.

    @Setinmotion It’s been such a long time since I’ve seen Matilda that I completely forgot about that scene.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Problemi di autostima? Leggetevi un libro - Finzioni - February 5, 2015

    […] (phorocredit) […]

Leave a Reply

