31 Days of Christmas Movies Marathon: Day 4 – Star Wars Holiday Special

Welcome to my 31 Days of Christmas movie marathon.  This is a feature where I watch a different Christmas movie every day from now until Christmas.  The rules are simple: The movie has to be something I haven’t already seen and I must watch at least one Christmas-themed movie a day from now until December 25th.  They’ll be some bad ones and hopefully a lot of great ones.  Why put myself through this?  Because it’s a good way to catch up on a lot of Christmas movies and a good way to satisfy my OCD.

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me… Star Wars Holiday Special

A long time ago in a galaxy far far away, let’s call it 1978, there lived a 2 hour too long made-for-television Christmas special set in the Star Wars universe.  This special would be deemed so bad that even the most avid of Star Wars fans would unhesitatingly dismiss it as something not worthy to even exist within a pile of Ton Ton crap.  Seriously, this is a horrible way to spend 2 hours, or 97 minutes without commercials.  Actually, watching it in 97 minutes, the way I did, was probably the harder way to watch this.  I was not given the luxury of having commercial breaks inserted every 15 minutes so that I could run to the sink and scrub my eyeballs.

Most of the story takes place in the Chewbacca treehouse, as his family anxiously awaits Chewie’s return home to celebrate a Wookie Christmas aka, Life Day.  There’s his wife, Malla, his son, Lumpy, and his father, Itchy, each one 100 times more unbearable than Jar Jar Binks could ever be.  You really don’t need to know much more than that.  Actually, you really don’t need to know anything else about the atrocious attempt at ruining one of the greatest science-fiction franchises ever, other than you should never, I MEAN NEVER, watch this!

Long scenes of pointless wookie banter that goes nowhere, special guest appearances by minor stars of the day, who probably had no idea what they were getting into, and a whole lot of rubbish, to which I’ll spare you the details, are littered throughout this special.

The Star Wars Holiday Special is special all right.  I should get a medal for sitting through this one.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

One Comment on “31 Days of Christmas Movies Marathon: Day 4 – Star Wars Holiday Special”

  1. Tom Ellis
    November 28, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Adam… I’m…

    I’m so, SO sorry…

Leave a Reply

