31 Days of Christmas Movies Marathon: Day 10 – Christmas in Connecticut

Welcome to my 31 Days of Christmas movie marathon.  This is a feature where I watch a different Christmas movie every day from now until Christmas.  The rules are simple: The movie has to be something I haven’t already seen and I must watch at least one Christmas-themed movie a day from now until December 25th.  They’ll be some bad ones and hopefully a lot of great ones.  Why put myself through this?  Because it’s a good way to catch up on a lot of Christmas movies and a good way to satisfy my OCD.

On the 10th day of Christmas my true love gave to me… Christmas in Connecticut

My day 9 viewing of We’re No Angels (1955) didn’t go over all that well; causing me to be somewhat apprehensive for yet another “classic” film viewing from the mid-20th century canon of holiday films.  Subscribing to the notion that one should absolutely never judge a book by its cover – or in this a case – a movie by its year, I thew my reluctant attitude to the wind and was rewarded with a charming portrait of an old-fashioned holiday classic done right; Peter Godfrey‘s 1945 Christmas in Connecticut.

Critiquing films is not always an easy thing to do.  The subjective stance a reviewer takes on a film often depends on what he or she is willing to overlook.  In this case , I had no trouble overlooking the far-fetched reality in where a young, smart, and single female journalist who lives in a city apartment is able to trick a couple of house guests into believing that she is married, a mother, and lives on a country farm in Connecticut.  Following screwball comedy blueprints, hijinks are bound to ensue, and joy is bound to be had for those, like myself, who are able to overlook the numerous moments where character’s motives come into question.  The point of this film is solely to have fun, and having both a great starring and supportive cast the fun to be had came easily.  It’s because of this cast, along with their rich comedic performances of the highest order that those questionable character motives were able to be overlooked, thus causing me to love, love, love this movie!

Sure, it does get a bit silly to say the least, and the hopeless romanticism might come on a little too strong at times, but in this case, these things just come off as charming.

I look forward to watching this again next year, and the year after that, and the year after that, and the year after that, and the year after that, and the year after that. By my count that’s 6 years in a row.  I think by then I’ll be over it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

