31 Days of Christmas Movies Marathon: Day 19 – Deck The Halls

Welcome to my 31 Days of Christmas movie marathon.  This is a feature where I watch a different Christmas movie every day from now until Christmas.  The rules are simple: The movie has to be something I haven’t already seen and I must watch at least one Christmas-themed movie a day from now until December 25th.  They’ll be some bad ones and hopefully a lot of great ones.  Why put myself through this?  Because it’s a good way to catch up on a lot of Christmas movies and a good way to satisfy my OCD.

On the 19th Day of Christmas my true love gave to me… Deck The Halls

If nothing else, writing a review for a movie containing the same title as a popular song gives me an excuse to replace the songs original lyrics with some surface critiques.  So, without further ado…

Buddy Hall (Danny DeVito) is Steve’s (Matthew Broderick) new neighbor/Fa la la la la, la la la la/He’s somewhat of an oddball stranger/Fa la la la la, la la la la/He dons his house with a zillion lights/Fa la la, la la la, la la la/All he wants to do is be noticed from space/Fa la la la la, la la la la/The two neighbors fight til their families leave them/Fa la la la la, la la la la/Then they get them back with the aid of movie magic/F a la la la la, la la la la/The sight gags weren’t funny, and gave me no pleasure/Fa la la la la, la la la la/Like tickling your wrists with a razor tipped feather/Fa la la la la, la la la la/How did Danny DeVito ever become an actor?/Fa la la la la, la la la la/His talent is shorter than his tiny stature/Fa la la la la, la la la la/Throw Mama From The Train was his only good movie/Fa la la, la la la, la la la/I guess he was also good in Batman Returns/Fa la la la la, la la la laaa!

I really did not like this movie.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

