Must-See March Films

March 2nd: Freaks/Island of Lost Souls (Roxie Theatre)

As part of Roxie’s week long pre-code Hollywood movie marathon, the Mission theatre will be flying its freak flag with an omnibus caravan of classic horror.  First up, I plan on reacquainting myself with that repugnant feeling of fear I felt as a kid when my boyhood friend’s father took us to the local circus and ushered me into the “freak tent” with Todd Browning‘s Freaks.  “We accept you, one of us!  Gobble Gobble!

Next up is Eric C. Kenton‘s Island of Lost Souls, a film I have yet to see, which, like Browning‘s Freaks, was released the same year.  The star power in this film boasts Bela Lugosi, Charles Laughton, Richard Arlen, and a bunch of mutated half human/half animal freaks.  I wonder if in 1932, when these two films were released, if people got confused between these two movies much the same way that, to this day, I still get confused between the two films that deal with magic from 2006, The Illusionist and The Prestige.

March 4th: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Castro Theatre)

David Fincher‘s reworking of the already hugely popular Swedish film certainly has its detractors, fortunately for me, I’m not one of them.  In a strange way, I like to think of this film as a flavorful stew of Zodiac and Se7en with a hint of Enya garnished on top for good measure.  Leave it to David Fincher to get good use out of an Enya song.

March 9th: Let The Bullets Fly (4-Star Theatre)

An action/comedy/western set in China during the 1920s starring Chow Yun-Fat and featuring a preview that conjures up similarities to Jee-woon Kim‘s fantastic The Good, the Bad, the Weird.  If this film is even half of what Kim‘s movie was, then I’ll be one happy cinegoer, but, truth be told, I have very high hopes for this, especially after reading a press release where it describes the film as “an escalating series of hyper-violent (and hilarious)”.

March 9th: Reality Bites/My Own Private Idaho/Freeway (Castro Theatre)

Time to get my 1990s nostalgia on!  The only reason this triple-feature is on my Must-See list is because of Gus Van Sant‘s My Own Private Idaho.  Having let 13 years past since seeing this movie and having remembered it striking a chord with me then, I definitely think it’s time for a rewatch – Castro screen style.  As for Reality Bites and Freeway, I too have seen these films only once, but I can’t say they stuck with me quite the same way Van Sant’s film has, although that’s probably because I was high as a zeppelin when I saw them.

March 15th: A Dangerous Method/Carnage (Castro Theatre)

In Carnage, Roman Polanski steps outside his comfort zone of making thrillers and delivers a comedy starring Jodie Foster, Kate Winslet, Christoph Waltz, and John C. Reilly.  At the press screening I attended, which usually tend to yield minimal reactions during the film, was filled with uproarious laughter just about every 10 minutes or so.

After Carnage, or before Carnage, depending on what time I show up at The Castro, I plan on staying for a rewatch of David Cronenberg‘s hand in the Biopic genre.  I thoroughly enjoyed this film upon my first viewing, but now, having had time to mull it over more, I’m looking forward to being rewarded the same pleasure I often get from rewatching any of Cronenberg’s films.

March 16th: Wall-E (Golden Gate Valley Library – FREE SCREENING!)

Are you really going to pass up a chance to see what is arguably one of the greatest animated films of the last 10 years for free?  I’m not.  The Golden Gate Library is located at 1801 Green St. at Octavia.

March 16th – 22nd: Fake It So Real (Roxie Theatre)

Other than the fact that I love interesting documentaries and a quote I read from Hammertonail.com’s Tom Hall, I knew nothing about this movie.  Here’s what Mr. Hall had to say: “If you’re looking for a film to take the piss out of wrestling and laugh at the aspirations of working class dreamers, look elsewhere. Instead, FAKE IT SO REAL provides something far more vital and moving; an examination of the fantasy lives of men whose experiences and aspirations are rarely articulated in the cinema.”  You sold?  I am.

March 16th: Possession/The Tenant (Castro Theatre)

…And the award for best bang for your buck at the movie theatre this month goes to this Andrzej Zulawski/Roman Polanski double-feature.

It’s time to get creeped out and once again have those few hairs I have on the back of my neck stick up, not just from the horror undercurrent running throughout both Roman Polanski‘s masterpiece (sorry Chinatown and Rosemary’s Baby fans) and Andrzej Zulawski‘s wonderfully odd direction of a pre-Jurassic Park Sam Neill, but because both these films are superb examples of what fully engaging films are supposed to be.

March 23rd: The Raid (AMC Metreon/Sundance Kabuki)

Action fans, rejoice!  Hopefully, after seeing the first of my top 10 most anticipated films of 2012 to be released, I will be able to repeat those three words; action fans, rejoice!  Every review I’ve read has talked about how innovative, mind-blowing, and visceral the action scenes are and how groundbreaking this movie is. I’m praying that what I’ve heard so far rings true for me as well, because I don’t want this to be the first major disappointment of my 2012 movie watching year.














Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Monthly Movies

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

