The Room Review (sort of) and Trailer

four-stars4“Oh, hi Mark.”  Only through the magic of Tommy Wiseau could three words be so piss in your pants funny.

The Room has a reputation of being one of the best worst movies ever made.  It is for this reason alone that I never had any interest in seeing it.  Like all movies stamped with the “so bad, it’s good” label I just couldn’t justify sitting down with this movie , especially when there are countless others (Citizen Kane, Casablanca, and Hellraiser part 9, just to name a few) that I would rather watch before my time on Earth has expired.  Reason being, I have just never been a big fan of seeking out and sitting through entire piss poor movies.  Sure, at first the novelty of laughing at something for the mere fact that it’s so bad could be, and often is, amusing, but after 15 minutes or so that novelty begins to takes its toll.

It’s sort of like laughing at an obese person who has fallen on the up escalator and can’t right themselves no matter how hard they try.  At first it’s funny, but if they were to go on struggling like that for over an hour I’m not so sure I would still be laughing.  Oh, who am I kidding, of course I would be.  Fact: People falling, especially fatties, and even more especially, those falling on escalators, will always be funny.  Come to think of it, watching this movie is nothing like that analogy.  What a shitty analogy.  Please forgive me, oh loyal reader, for wasting your time with such rubbish and follow the jump to read my more coherent account as to what it was like watching Tommy Wiseau‘s now cult movie, The Room for the first time

It was so funny that I nearly pissed my pants.  It was so mesmerizingly stupid that often I would forget to blink.  But mostly, it was the worst movie I have ever seen where immediately after it was over I was overwhelmed with a wanting desire to watch it again and again.

For those of you out there who have not seen this yet and/or don’t believe in the existence of a movie that is so bad it’s good, obviously you have yet to see, or rather experience, The Room.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews

2 Comments on “The Room Review (sort of) and Trailer”

  1. January 18, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    Oh sweet Jesus. I’m SO GLAD you watched this! I watched it about a year ago, and I was glued to the screen. Even better, we watched it in a group, so it was like MST3k!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Xan Cassavetes’ Kiss of the Damned – Review and Trailer | Filmbalaya.com - May 6, 2013

    […] that this film would have a much different impact on me if I were to see it in a packed theatre. If Tommy Wiseau‘s The Room can find a cult following, surely so can this. I’m not implying that this has the potential […]

Leave a Reply

