We Have A T-Rex, And an Interview With One To Prove It!

409252Jurassic Park was released twenty years ago and many movie goers remember this film as a breakthrough in effects for movies. Jurassic Park raised the bar for the production of action/adventure film winning three Academy Awards in sound effects, sound mixing, and visual effects. The characters in the film spanned stereotypes of humanity and the plot has elements of betrayal, sacrifice, healing, and survival. The theme of the film is human intellect versus nature; the quest for science and reason to overcome nature and chaos.

For me to write a review or opinion piece that has already been written on the 20th anniversary of Jurassic Park could only demonstrate my lack of writing credibility. Instead, I used some connections I have from college and found myself deep in the Nevada desert to speak with a critic like none other. Self-named Georgia is a three year-old, fully conscious Tyrannosaurus rex. Georgia lives in a bunker beneath the Nevada desert. She is part of an overly elaborate experiment proving theories on consciousness, genetics, and physical pain. She spends most of her time reading and watching film when not being subjected to horrifying examinations. I was granted exclusive rights to her critique of Jurassic Park.

Follow the jump for this exclusive interview

Interviewer:  When you saw Jurassic Park what struck you the most?

Georgia:  The most? Well it was visually spectacular. Very suspenseful. But what struck me the most was how long the human characters survived.

Interviewer:  And why is that?

Georgia:  Because when I see a movie like this, and I know how heavily outnumbered the characters are, it awes me that anyone got off that island alive.

Interviewer:  Who was your favorite character?

Georgia:  Oh, the T. rex by far. She was a tough female lead who scares the devil out of everything in her path. She is my favorite heroine in all of film.

Interviewer:  And the human characters, who did you prefer among them?

Georgia:  Personally, I thought they were all a little flat and, well, not impressive. I can’t stop thinking about the computer programmer though. He looked delicious.

Interviewer:  Lets talk about Wayne Knight‘s character, Dennis Nedry. Greed was a major aspect of the plot, from the investors interests in safety to Nedry stealing the dinosaur embryos, what do you think of this aspect of the film?

Georgia:  Greed is a real part of humanity and one that can too often lead to tragedy. Unlike mankind, animals like dinosaurs rely on their instincts and their drive-to-survive, if you will. This drive manifests itself differently than human greed as its ends are justified by surviving.

Interviewer:  What do you mean when you say “justified by surviving.”

Georgia:  Well, what I mean is that when caught in battle with a fellow member of your kind the victor survives and the loser dies. Physical pain and suffering are a driving force in animals. Consciousness allows for hopes and dreams that may be benign or malevolent. The thwarting of these dreams has John Hammond bringing out his guests. The disgruntled nature of Nedry sends him on a quest for the good life. Anger, revenge, and worry never enter the mind of an animal. To be or not to be is the only question on the mind of the dinosaur characters. In my opinion, this purity in their experiences and expectations allows for better characters.

Interviewer:  How do you feel about the movie’s ending?

Georgia:  Oh, I love it. The T. rex shows up and tears things apart. The humans survive because they accept their inability to overcome the circumstances and the dinosaurs rule the island. Sounds pretty sweet. Much more appealing than my cage and scheduled destruction next year.

Interviewer:  You’re scheduled to be destroyed?

Georgia:  Oh, of course. You can’t just have conscious dinosaurs roaming around. After all of the tests are over, I’ll be humanely destroyed (laughs).

After the interesting interview, I spent the next week trying to free Georgia. The whole thing turned into a mess and I was held by laboratory security for three weeks. I never did see Georgia again. I remember her soft gaze and quirky answers to my questions. My falling in love with a dinosaur was one of the strangest times in my life. I want to thank Spielberg and Jurassic Park for making me realize things about myself that I could have never discovered without the 20th anniversary release of this film.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Interviews

One Comment on “We Have A T-Rex, And an Interview With One To Prove It!”

  1. enana
    April 2, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Pretty good review, very creative. Georgia did have a valid point about humans that should have been goners by the time the island was overrun. Not to worry, when seen in 3D massive heart attacks will surely occur, thus reducing the human population, one theater at a time.

Leave a Reply

