Another Hole in the Head 2013: Day 4 – “All Cheerleaders Die”

dynamic_resizeMy fourth day was also the festival’s official seventh day. It also marked the last day of this year’s AHITH being shown at The Balboa theatre. Though I love the little area around the theatre, and even discovered the city’s best lentil soup spot, I can’t say I’m sad to see the festival’s remaining films at another venue – one closer to a BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) station. Now I can actually stay for the second screenings and know I won’t miss my train home.

Even though I didn’t stick around for last night’s 9pm screening of Stanley Kubrick‘s The Shining (on 35mm) I still was able to end my Balboa sprint on a high note with Lucky McKee and Chris Sivertson‘s All Cheerleaders Die, a film disguised as atypical teen fodder, but once the costumes come off what were actually looking at is a horromedy with the cult classic potential to be the next Evil Dead.  Yeah, I went there.

four-stars4Dear Another Hole in the Head staff (you know who you are), I must ask, have you ever been behooved? Me neither. Would you like to be? If so, it would behoove you to land the rights to this movie and show it at the opening of every AHITH festival from this year forward.

I’d like to start this review by saying this is not another teen movie, but I can’t because Not Another Teen Movie is a horrible parody on teen movies from 2001. All Cheerleaders Die however is both a smartly comedic/horror spoof on teen movies and a rather unique take on the lesser spoofed-on subgenre of what I call switcharoo films, in where one character’s body is switched with another’s. Y’all remember Like Father Like Son (1987), Vise Versa (1988) and Dream a Little Dream (1989), right?

Before the switcharoo portion of the movie happens however, proper character introductions and a glimpse into just what kind of cinematic universe McKee and Sivertson have in store for us must be established. This is a fantastical world in where characters do have consequences, just not those seen in the real world, which is just fine by me. Shooting for cinema neorealism, this is not. This is a world inhabited by tongue in cheek clichéd jocks, stoners, a lone wiccan aka, the weird goth girl, and of course, cheerleaders.

So do they all die like the title suggests? Well, there’s a trailer below that spoils this question for you, so if you want to watch then be my guest, however, I’d highly advise against it. A lot of the enjoyment I got from this movie came from not knowing what was going to happen. Even at times where outcomes seemed predictable, it wasn’t. Do yourself a favor and don’t watch the trailer. Instead demand this film be shown in your area right now! You’ll thank me later.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Another Hole In The Head, Reviews

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

