Frameline38: Here’s What Were Looking Forward To

th_3aec9e2492838db4640a8f7026219007_frameline38posterI must give credit where credit is due. Year after year, the Frameline film festival has been showing some pretty damn good films, and upon perusing through their 2014 catalogue I have no reason to think this year will be any different.

Not only is the Frameline festival a chance for the LGBT community to celebrate their identity through the medium of film, but due to the constant stellar programming department’s continued focus on quality over content, it has also grown to become one of my favorite Bay Area festivals.

Frameline 38 takes place from June 19th – June 29th. And now, here’s what I’m looking forward to seeing.

52 Tuesdays

52Tuesdays_NEW_dad Short Synopsis: 16-year-old Billie’s reluctant path to independence is accelerated when her mother reveals plans to gender transition and their time together becomes limited to Tuesday afternoons. – IMDB.com

Why it’s on my radar: Forget about the film’s narrative, the appeal for me here lies in the concept. True to its title, the film was actually shot over 52 Tuesdays, and in chronological order, mind you. To ignore such an ambitious project would be a crime against the spirit of independent cinema, and I’m no criminal.

Showtimes for 52 Tuesdays:
Tuesday, June 24, 7:00pm (Victoria)

Crazy Bitches

safe_image.phpShort Synopsis: A girls’ weekend away turns into a nightmare when, one by one, they are killed by their own vanity. – IMDB.com

Why it’s on my radar: Anyone already familiar with my guilty pleasure side should already know why I’m looking forward to seeing this. Aside from having the best title of the festival, this slasher feature also comes attached with the disclaimer This film contains depictions of graphic violence. Sounds like the perfect idea of a fun time to me.

Showtimes for Crazy Bitches:
Thursday, June 26, 9:30pm (Victoria)

The Dog

Dog_01Short Synopsis: A documentary portrait of the late John Wojtowicz, whose attempted robbery of a Brooklyn bank to finance his male lover’s sex-reassignment surgery was the real-life inspiration for Dog Day Afternoon (1975). – IMDB.com

Why it’s on my radar: I got three word’s for you. Attica! Attica! Attica!. Okay, so it’s more like one word repeated three times. Anyway, this is some non-fiction subject matter I can get behind. I mean, why wouldn’t I want to see the documentary version of Sydney Lumet‘s best film, Dog Day Afternoon?

Showtimes for The Dog:
Wednesday, June 25, 1:30pm (Castro)

Edward II

09

Short Synopsis: Jarman’s bold version of Christopher Marlowe’s four-hundred-year-old play streamlines the plot to the doomed King Edward II and his beloved Piers Gaveston, enthralled in an obsessive love affair condemned by nobles and church, and his despairing queen, Isabella – BAM/PFA

Why it’s on my radar: This is on my list simply because I have never seen a Derek Jerman film before, and I figure what better way to start than among a sure-to-be packed house at the Castro Theatre. Plus, just say the name Tilda Swinton and I’m there.

Showtimes for Edward II:
Friday, June 20, 11:00am (Castro)

Kidnapped for Christ

o-TRASH-PIT-facebook

Short Synopsis: A young evangelical filmmaker is granted unprecedented access inside a controversial Christian behavior modification program for teens, where she discovers shocking secrets and young students that change her life. – IMDB

Why it’s on my radar: I’m not expecting a happy-go-lucky time with this one. But when it comes to presenting both informative and well-made documentaries, usually Frameline hits its mark. This festival just wouldn’t be complete if by the end of it I weren’t exposed to at least one documentary that informed, infuriated, and downright vociferated my theatre going experience.

Showtimes for Kidnapped for Christ:
Saturday, June 21, 6:30pm (Roxie)

Of Girls and Horses

OfGirlsHorses_medresShort synopsis: A coming-of-age story with girls and horses in the stark environment at the most Northern tip of Germany at the ocean near the Danish border. – German-films.de

Why it’s on my radar: Earlier this year I saw an extraordinary film from Iceland entitled Of Horses and Men that by year’s end should easily make my top 15 Best of list. How cool would it be to have a film called Of Girls and Horses as well? This one’s from Germany, and aside from the very broad plot outline, that’s all I know. My hope is that it’s at least half as enthralling and beautiful as the former film the one about men and horses were.

Showtimes for Of Girls and Horses:
Friday, June 27, 9:15pm (Roxie)

You and the Night

YouInNightShort synopsis: Around midnight, a young couple and their transvestite maid prepare for an orgy. Their guests will be The Slut, The Star, The Stud and The Teen. – IMDB

Why it’s on my radar: From the plot synopsis and the trailer, it looks like this film, along with its characters, could go either way. This will either wind up being Euro artsy-fartsy trash, or something exciting and audacious? I figure, why not take a chance. After all, every festival has at least one hidden gem, right? I’m hoping this is that gem. But then again, it could be total shit. Only one way to find out.

Showtimes for You and the Night:
Monday, June 23, 9:00pm (Roxie)

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Frameline

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

