Rock’s Report From The 58th SF Intl Film Festival: Trey Edward Shults’ “Krisha”, Bill Condon’s “Mr. Holmes” and Thomas Salvadore’s “Vincent”

Krisha

KrishaWelcome to Texas, where everything is big, including the addiction, the food, the drama, and the love. Krisha by director Trey Edward Shults is a family affair that goes horribly awry on a thanksgiving dinner, and it does so in true Texan fashion. I know this because I’m a native Texan myself, and I am so proud of my fellow Texan for making such a great film.

Shults’ wonderful all-seeing camera was really the most important part of this movie because it gave us an unflinching look at real family life, all while remaining neutral. The constant movements and pans all revealed and peeled away layers that exposed us to the core of what pain addiction is.

This director is well on his way to becoming a venerated master of our generation. Both beautifully acted and staged, this film is a film that should be seen on a wide scale. Truly eye-opening.

four-stars4

Mr. Holmes

British TV drama calls itself cinema – again. Maybe it’s me, maybe I’m not that hip on what Britain’s film culture looks like, or maybe I don’t have a complete understanding of the prose they bring to film language, but this film, Mr. Holmes, was completely lost on me.

Mr. Holmes is three stories woven into one, which aren’t that bad, but they all played like a TV miniseries. I’d Netflix this one. Seriously, it is not worth the trip to your local movie theatre to see. the performances all round were great, yet the film doesn’t really have much to say. We know Britain has the best classically trained actors, so in this department it shines. I will say the film touches on dementia and old age quite tenderly as the now older Mr. Holmes settles into a final retirement only to be jolted back to life by a young whipper snapper. Rife with the mystery of a fading case and memory Mr. Holmes attempts to solve on his own what happened and who done it from a case over 35 years old. Deep rich story, wonderful language etc, but it still felt like I was watching television, and that for me lowered the bar.

three-stars15

Vincent

There doesn’t seem to be much hype around this sleeper hit by first time director Thomas Salvadore. If I tell you the synopsis then I almost give away the plot of this charming movie. It’s better you are surprised at what happens during our title character’s journey of appreciation. What did surprise me was how the story was juxtaposed against some long shot choices which offered up a unique bend to this genre film, something we all know is a good thing.

Now I didn’t see When Animals Dream in the festival, but from what I heard this would make a perfect companion piece. My only complaint against Vincent, and I know it’s a french film and they have a way of telling stories etc., etc., but this movie, to me anyway, is basically an extended short film with the middle act after the rising action where our protagonist gets is in the chase, I think it that was way too extended and allowed the film to lose its pep. But overall charming and I really liked it.

three-stars15

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Reviews, San Francisco International Film Festival

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

